History / Dirstine Lecture

The Seattle Hand Surgery Group® had its beginning when Dr. Morris J. Dirstine returned from World War II. As a general surgeon, he had been put in charge of a hand surgery unit in Europe; the hand trauma cases he encountered led to his keen interest in this field. He returned to Seattle after the war and began a practice devoted to hand surgery. He was a pioneer in this specialty in Seattle and helped foster its growth and advancement. He died in 1983 and is still remembered fondly for his kindness and compassion towards patients and his willingness to teach others.

We honor Dr. Dirstine annually with the Dirstine Lectureship.  Started in 1993 by Emeritus Drs. Almquist and Sack, Seattle Hand Surgery Group took over sponsorship in 2001.  Pacific NW Hand Surgeons and Hand Therapists are welcomed annually to attend the lecture series.

2018 Dirstine Lecture

The 26th Annual Dirstine Lecture will feature Dr. Philip Blazar from Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, MA.

The 2018 Dirstine Lecture will be in the Pinnard Auditorium on the Swedish Cherry Hill Campus from 8:30am to 12:00pm on Friday, May 11th.

There is no cost to attend this lecture.  Occupational and Physical Therapists specializing or interested in Hand Therapy are welcome to attend.  RSVP – http://evite.me/31yr1zfNmd (cut/paste to browser)

CME certificates will be provided to Hand Therapists that attend.

**The Dirstine Lecture is solely sponsored by the owners of Seattle Hand Surgery Group, P.C.   The lectureship is a private event that is not open to vendors.  Please note that all generous offers of sponsorship are respectfully declined.

Past Dirstine Lecturers

1993       Richard I. Burton, M.D., University of Rochester
1994       Ronald L. Linscheid, M.D., Mayo Clinic
1995       Peter J. Stern, M.D., University of Cincinnati
1996       Julio Taleisnik, M.D., University of California, Irvine
1997       Andrew K. Palmer, M.D., SUNY Health Science Center
1998       James R. Urbaniak, M.D., Duke University Medical Center
1999       E.G. Shaw Wilgis, M.D., Curtis National Hand Center, Baltimore
2000       Edward E. Almquist, M.D., Seattle Hand Surgery Group
2001       James W. Strickland, M.D., Indiana University School of Medicine
2002       Hill Hastings II, M.D., Indiana Hand Center
2003       David P. Green, M.D., University of Texas Health Science Center
2004       Andrew Weiland, M.D., Hospital for Special Surgery, N.Y.
2005       Diego Fernandez, M.D., Lindenhof Hospital, Bern
2006       Brian Adams, M.D., University of Iowa Medical Center
2007       Arnold-Peter C. Weiss, M.D., Brown Medical School
2008       Alexander Y. Shin, M.D., Mayo Clinic
2009       Robert N. Hotchkiss, M.D., Hospital for Special Surgery, N.Y.
2010       James Chang, M.D., Stanford University Medical Center
2011       David Ruch, M.D., Duke University Medical Center
2012       Prosper Benhaim, M.D., UCLA Medical Center
2013       Edward Diao, M.D., California Pacific Medical Center
2014       Thomas J. Fischer, M.D., Indiana Hand to Shoulder Center
2015       Mark E. Baratz, M.D., University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
2016       Jorge L. Orbay, M.D., Miami Hand & Upper Extremity Institute
2017       Jennifer Moriatis Wolf M.D., University of Chicago